# PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SD #58 YELLOWSTONE COUNTY BILLINGS, MT 59106

May 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023

Board Chair Michael Chandler called a regular Board of Trustees meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. on May 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023. The meeting was in the conference room.

PRESENT: Lacey Jones and Michael Chandler. Absent: Chris Myers. Superintendent Keith Tresch, Cass Cole, and Roger Heimbigner were present. Dwight Vanschriltz was absent.

**GUESTS:** Lorelei Rosales

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all in attendance.

HEARING OF INDIVIDUALS/ CORRESPONDENCE

**CORRESPONDENCE** None

**APPROVE ADDITION** None.

NEW BUSINESS <u>Items for Action</u>

## **Election of Trustees by Acclamation**

Chris Myers was elected by acclamation for a three year term.

### Reorganization of the Board

A motion was made by Lacey Jones to nominate Michael Chandler as board chair. There were no other nominations. Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to nominate Chris Myers as Vice-Chair. There were no other nominations. Both motions passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Michael Chandler, seconded by Lacey Jones to appoint Roger Heimbigner as Clerk of the Board. Motion passed unanimously.

# Approve Minutes for April 19th, 2023

The March minutes were included in the packet so April 19<sup>th</sup> minutes will be approved at the June board meeting.

# **Approve Bills for March/April 2023**

A motion was made by Lacey Jones, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve the bills for payment and check listing. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **Approve New Hires**

Lacey Jones moved, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve the hiring of Allison Gockley and Lindy Thomas as summer teachers and to also hire the current teachers for summer school – Tessa Beach, Janelle Cook,,Ryan Frick, Jim Klempel, Tracy Preston, Lorelei Rosales, Sharon Voller, Bobby Sipes, Melissa Garcia, Hallie Vervair, Jason Thomas, John Hicks, Lisa Thacker, Kayleen Billy, Jami Palchus, Rich Feeley, Wayne Small, Braxton Haws and Anna Moody. Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Lacey Jones, seconded by Michael Chandler to hire Lee Munyon as a custodian pending a background check, Brooke Philbrick as a paraprofessional, and Jevon Lulf as a teacher (p.e.teacher). Motion passed unanimously.

# **Approve Resignations**

A motion was made by Lacey Jones, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve the resignation of Trista Fraley. Motion passed unanimously.

# **Approve Contract with ITBR Solutions for 2023-2024 School Year**

Lacey Jones moved, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve the contract with ITBR Solutions for the 2023-24 school year. Motion passed unanimously. Roger Heimbigner reminded the board that at the end of the 24-25 school year the plan is for ITBRSolutions to no longer provide these services. There was discussion on the transition process during the 24-25 school year.

#### **Update Policy 3300 Suspension and Expulsion**

Supt. Tresch talked to the board about the need to review and update Policy 3300 Suspension and Expulsion to match the new MTSBA recommendation. Supt. Tresch reviewed with the board the changes to the existing policy. Lacey Jones moved, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve updated Policy 3300 – Suspension and Expulsion as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

# **Approve Next Board Meeting Time and Date**

Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve setting the next board meeting for Wednesday, June  $28^{th}\,$ , 2023 at noon. Motion passed unanimously.

## **Superintendent Report**

Supt. Tresch reported on the following:

- 1) Supt. Tresch talked about the outings that are planned for the summer;
- 2) Supt. Tresch informed the board they are looking at incentives to students to attend summer school;
- 3) The administrators will be attending a conference in Atlanta the third week in June. Title 1 Improvement grants will be paying for the trip.

# **Adjournment:**

Lacey Jones moved, seconded by Michael Chandler to adjourn. Motion passed unanimously. Adjournment was at 12:23 p.m. Next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, June 28<sup>th</sup>, 2023 at 12:00 p.m.

Michael Chandler, Board Chair	Roger Heimbigner, Clerk	