PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SD #58 YELLOWSTONE COUNTY BILLINGS, MT 59106

May 20, 2020

Board Chair Mitch Burns called a regular Board of Trustees meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. on May 20th, 2020. The meeting was via a Zoom meeting on-line.

PRESENT: Mitch Burns Chris Eide and Michael Chandler. Absent: none. Superintendent Keith Tresch, Principal Cass Cole, Dwight VonSchriltz and Clerk Roger Heimbigner were present.

GUESTS: Lorelei Rosales

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all in attendance.

HEARING OF
INDIVIDUALS/
CORRESPONDENCE None.

APPROVE ADDITION None

NEW BUSINESS Items for Action

Election of Trustees by Acclimation/Reorganization of the Board

Chris Eide moved, seconded by Michael Chandler to approve Mitch Burns election to the board by acclimation. Motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Chris Eide, seconded by Michael Chandler to nominate Mitch Burns as Board Chair and Michael Chandler as Vice-Chair of the Board. There were no other nominations. Motion passed unanimously.

Appoint Clerk

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to appoint Roger Heimbigner as Clerk of the Board. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Consent Agenda

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the minutes of April 29th, 2020. A motion was made by Michael Chandler, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the bills for payment. Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the canceled warrant list. All motions passed unanimously.

Approve Hiring

A motion was made by Michael Chandler, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the following classified and mental health staff for the 2020-21 school year: Alissa Brady, Rebecca Criddle, Pattye Del Pizzo, Matt Dumas, Hannah Ennis, Deanna Hansen, Tom Harsha, Cindy Himmelspach, Alix Kern, Chris Koltes, Chanc Lawrence, Joevon Lulf, Cameron Miller, Isabella Nunberg, Melissa Sarday, Bobby Sipes Sr., Logan Smiledge, Mackenzie Trudeau, Shannon Youngblood, Brenna Beckett, Karen Johnson, Christine Duda, Janii Elsenpeter, Kendra Herlyn, Amanda Iffland, Tara Kirkegard, Jacob Meyer, Kacee Myczkiowiak, Daniel Porisch, Tammy Rea, Jen Scheller, Brad Tippets, Brenda Ndedi, Becky Robertus, and Robert Sipes Jr. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Resignations

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the resignations of Meghan Knust. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Tuition Agreements

None

Approve Agreement with Certified Staff/Classified Staff

The board reviewed the agreement with the certified and classified staff. Certified staff are being recommended for a 3% increase on the base with no language changes. Classified staff are to receive an increase of 25 cents on the base for 2020-21 and no increase for the 2021-22 school year. Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the Master Agreements for Certified and Classified Staff. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Next Board Meeting Time and Date

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve the next board meeting to be Wednesday, June 24th , 2020 at 12:00 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Subscription Renewals

A motion was made by Michael Chandler, seconded by Mitch Burns to approve subscription renewals for ACE (\$3,100) and Infinite Campus (2,500). Motion passed unanimously.

Superintendent Report

Supt. Keith Tresch reported on the following:

- 1) There will be 4 graduates 1 day school and 3 residential. Supt. Tresch talked about the ceremony;
- 2) Supt. Tresch reported that YBGR will supplement staff by adding \$2.00 for every hour work during the initial Covid stage;
- 3) There was discussion on space issues and the need to add a classroom to the Day School.

Trustee Report

None

Adjournment:

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Mitch Burns to adjourn. Motion passed unanimously. Adjournment was at 12:30 p.m. Next meeting is scheduled for June 24th, 2020 at noon.

Mitch Burns, Chairman	Roger Heimbigner, Clerk