PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES SD #58 YELLOWSTONE COUNTY BILLINGS, MT 59106

May 22nd, 2024

Chair Michael Chandler called a regular Board of Trustees meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. on May 22^{nd} , 2024. The meeting was held in the Board conference room.

PRESENT: Chris Myers, Lacey Jones and Michael Chandler. Absent: None. Superintendent Keith Tresch, Dwight VonSchriltz and Roger Heimbigner were present.

GUESTS: Lorelei Rosales and Laurie Hickethier.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all in attendance.

HEARING OF INDIVIDUALS/ CORRESPONDENCE

CORRESPONDENCE None

APPROVE ADDITION None

NEW BUSINESS <u>Items for Action</u>

Approve New Board Member

Supt. Tresch reported that there was no election due to no one running for the school board. Chris Myers, whose term ran out, has agreed to stay on until a replacement is found or until he moves out of district. A motion was made by Michael Chandler, seconded by Lacey Jones to appoint Chris Myers as a board member. Motion passed unanimously. This position next year will be voted on for a two-year term.

Reorganization of the Board

Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to appoint Michael Chandler as Board Chair. There we no other nominations. Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jone to appoint Roger Heimbigner as Clerk of the Board. There were no other nominations. Both motions passed unanimously. Roger stated that after July 1st the Board will have to appoint a new clerk.

Approve Minutes for May 1st , 2024

A motion was made by Chris Myers, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve the minutes of May $1^{\rm st}$, 2024. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Bills for April 2024/May 2024

A motion was made by Chris Myers, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve the bills for payment and check listing. There was discussion on the Procare Therapy bill in the amount of \$20,000. They are a recruiting company and were able to get an employee for the Academy. Chris Myers asked in the future that admin let all board members know if this is an option that is being discussed in the future. Supt. Tresch stated he did tell the Board Chair. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve New Hires

Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to hire the following:

- 1) Jake Anderson Summer BS
- 2) Dan Porisch Summer BS
- 3) Taylor Gertsch Intern
- 4) Susanna Lemmel SPED teacher
- 5) Laurel Hickethier Business Manager/Clerk as of July 1st

Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Hiring of Current Certified Staff

A motion was made by Chris Myers, seconded by Lacey Jones to hire the following certified staff for the 24-25 school year:

- 1. Val Clause
- 2. David Eckroth
- 3. Richard Feeley
- 4. Ryan Frick
- 5. Melissa Garcia
- 6. Lori Giesick
- 7. Jon Hicks
- 8. Michelle Jutila
- 9. James Klempel
- 10. Nicole Kostelecky

- 11. Lou Larson
- 12. Jevon Lulf
- 13. Janelle Lulf
- 14. Lisa McDaniel
- 15. Mary Montgomery
- 16. Anna Moody
- 17. Jami-lynn Palchus
- 18. Hannah Roche
- 19. Lorelei Rosales
- 20. Robert Sipes Sr.
- 21. Lisa Thacker
- 22. Jason Thomas
- 23. Sharon Voller

Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Hiring of Current Mental Health Staff

Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve the following Mental Health Staff:

- 1. Mitch Burns
- 2. Derek Budge
- 3. Tara Kirkegard
- 4. Alissa Brady
- 5. Tammy Rea
- 6. Kacee Myczkowiak
- 7. Mackenzie Trudeau
- 8. Richard Russiff
- 9. Catherine "Catie" Kolczak
- 10. Kylie Merriman
- 11. Karynn Campbell
- 12. Jose Reyes
- 13. Catherine Hilario
- 14. Brittany Simonson
- 15. Jesse Kennedy
- 16. Dakota Sipes

Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Additional Year for Superintendent

Supt. Tresch stated he normally has a 3 year contract which has been renewed each year. He asked the board to renew him again with the third year built into his contract. A motion was made by Chris Myers, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve a third year for Supt. Tresch's contract. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Hiring Current Administrative Leadership

Supt. Tresch recommended hiring Dwight VonSchriltz as Director of Special Services and Cass Cole as principal. Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve hiring Dwight VonSchriltz and Cass Cole for the 2024-25 school year. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve "1000" Series Policy Updates from MTSBA

Supt. Tresch stated that he has been reviewing 128 pages of policy which he will break down and bring to the Board in sections. The Academy hired MTSBA to review and recommend policies to the Academy as well. Supt. Tresch said that one of the policies has the 3rd Wednesday of the month as the designated board meeting day. The Board won't have to approve this each month unless it changes on a particular month due to conflicts. Posting of the budgets will be in the Billings Gazette as part of a group ad with the other county schools. A motion was made by Chris Myers, seconded by Lacey Jones to approve Section 1000 of the Board Policy as submitted. Motion passed unanimously.

Approve Next Board Meeting Time and Date

Michael Chandler moved, seconded by Chris Myers to approve setting the next board meeting for Wednesday, May 29th at noon and Wednesday, June 19th, 2024 at noon. Motion passed unanimously. Both meetings will be in the Board Conference room.

Superintendent Report

Supt. Tresch reported on the following:

- Supt. Tresch said they are working on a schedule for the outings over the summer with hopefully one scheduled each week;
- 2) Supt. Tresch talked about giving the Day School kids incentives to come to school over the summer. Last year

- this worked pretty well. If the student shows up then they are billable for Medicaid;
- 3) Supt. Tresch stated he is working with MTSBA and Felt Martin on an attendance policy to cover how students can be enrolled at the Academy starting in the 24-25 school year. With the new law, we need to make sure we are working with the students that are part of our strategic plan;

Adjournment:

Chris Myers moved, seconded by Lacey Jones to adjourn. Motion
passed unanimously. Adjournment was at 11:45 a.m. Next
meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 29th, 2024 at 12:00
p.m.

Michael Chandler, Board Chair	Roger Heimbigner, Clerk